30-Breakin’

Start: Sheep Lake (2334)
Camp: White Pass (2303)
Maybe it was meeting my first NOBO’s, or maybe it was the possibility of eating prepared food that night or of catching my friends. Maybe I just kept hiking to escape the mosquitoes or because my pack was light and didn’t tire me like before. I hiked quickly though, that was the big difference. I swung stiffened feet on flexed legs by tautened core. I stopped three times, to cook three meals, and to the people I met I spoke with my pack on. By 5:00 p.m. I knew it was going to happen and I made up a little song: Body Movin’ by the Beastie Boys with the words “Body moving” changed to “Thirty-breakin'”. I was excited and by 7:00 p.m. I had reached White Pass. Mike and Maggie were there and they hugged me, sweat and all. They were just about to go and setup camp with a pair I’d not yet met, Jacob and Alexis. The store was just closing and I got some food from the hot bar and left my resupply box for tomorrow. We camped together in the meadow and stayed up late swapping trail tails.

image

Mt. Ranier after the fog (finally) lifted.

