Got to Admit Its Getting Better

Woke up and peaked out of my tent to see that it was adjust a beautiful day, then I checked the time to see that it was exactly 4:00 a.m., so I went back to sleep for three hours. Then I made a breakfast of cream of wheat with rice in it and got on the trail by 8:30, it was still my earliest start yet, and got a drink out of a corrugated steel drainage culvert as I crossed the road which leads to the Slate Peak fire lookout.

My food cache, in two 20L dry bags hung 25' up in a bent over tree, is still there after nine days, yay!! And there's Chocolate!!!

My food cache, in two 20L dry bags hung 25′ up in a bent over tree, is still there after nine days, yay!! And there’s Chocolate!!!

Some days just feel like everything works and is right in the world. Today is one of those days, for the sole reason that my food cache, after nine days untended, was still there. I packed it up, and this time I portioned out my snacks. Apprehension is what I felt up to this point. Now, elation. Not because of my newfound junk food craving being satisfied, not even because I won’t starve-I could deal with that-but because my feeling of self reliance, that feeling of rush of the power to sustain one’s self has grown immensely; that is the longest I’ve ever cached food.

In the morning sun I bathed and washed some laundry. The universe bright me a challenge and I did not live up to it: I ate the peanut butter crunch cliff bar that appeared on the trail in front of me, even tough I was full and had already eaten a nice caramelly chocolate. I missed a moment to strengthen myself in my haste to do good (picking up trash) and to carry as little weight as possible (eat lots now.)

Start: Slate Peak

Camp: Methow River Crossing

Distance: 17 miles

Highlights: Over of my favorite views I’ve seen, looking north into Ninetynine Basin and south into the bowl the PCT is traversing around from the ridge (and in this case the cornice ) between them.

I took off my gloves this morning shortly after I put them on. Today was the first day that out was warm enough not to use them. I put my have straight into the snow when I slipped, and I hiked in a t shirt and shorts, and sometimes even no shirt, all day. I did more laundry at lunch. I found a nice shirt and a very nice dry bag.

Standing confidently on Harts Pass. Notice all the snow from the 14th is gone, gone, gone!

Standing confidently on Harts Pass. Notice all the snow from the 14th is gone, gone, gone!

