Ross Lake: East Bank TH to Rainbow Pt. (Day 1)

Distance: 9.6 miles

Start: The East Bank Trailhead on Highway 20 near Ross Lake’s Southern end in the Ross Lake Recreation Area

Camp: The picturesque Rainbow Point camp

Highlights: Just being out! It’s Day 1! Yay!!!

The East Bank Trail is a long green tunnel for most of the way. When the trail gets close enough to the steep cliffs that flank much of the lake, you can see a green lake below through the leafless understory of the tall firs. Thirsting for better views and fueled with first day excitement, I pushed past my permitted camp spot, then past another camp, ending up several miles further than I’d planned for my first day. The park ranger had mentioned over the phone that it was so early in the season that there would be room at any of the camps and he was right – I would, for the next four days, camp with only one other party.

Harts Pass, where almost everyone else is starting today. I hung my food cache here and then left for a warm bed in Winthrop.

Harts Pass, where almost everyone else is starting today. I hung my food cache here and then left for a warm bed in Winthrop.

